Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council

Step up, speak out

Student well-being is a top priority at IUPUI. The newly established Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council connects decision-makers and students in the interest of ensuring student health and well-being. Apply to the council and let your voice be heard.

Purpose and expectations

The IUPUI Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council creates a space where student leaders can share information with campus leaders regarding student mental health. Council members will be expected to:

  • Learn what programs, services, and resources are available for students
  • Identify gaps that might exist among current offerings
  • Help identify viable solutions to better meet student needs
  • Serve as liaisons between the council and the student body
  • Actively engage the campus community around student mental health
  • Identify ways to communicate to the campus community about the council’s work
  • Attend monthly meetings and additional meetings as deemed necessary
  • Remain in good standing with local, state, and federal laws and policies and university policies and standards
  • Honor confidentiality of information disclosed
  • Serve a one-and-a-half-year term from spring 2023 through spring 2024.

Who is eligible?

Candidates must be in good standing with regard to academic and personal conduct at the time of application, and must maintain this standing throughout the term of appointment to the council. Undergraduate candidates must be enrolled in at least 12 credit hours. Graduate and professional students must be enrolled in at least 8 credit hours.

Application process

Applications for the Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council open annually in December, and new members are typically notified by the end of January.

A panel of staff representing the Division of Student Affairs and Academic Affairs will review applications and recommend candidates to serve on the council. Council members will be invited to serve by the IUPUI chancellor.

Current members

  • Moriah Carmel, graduate student, MD and MBA, School of Medicine
  • Casandra Carrillo, graduate student, biological sciences, School of Science
  • Michaela Di Palmo, senior, music theory and psychology double major, School of Engineering and Technology and School of Science
  • Hayden Hurst, senior, biology, School of Science
  • Michael Peck, senior, psychology, School of Science
  • Lakshmi Ananya Pendela, sophomore, biomedical informatics and neuroscience double major, School of Engineering and Technology and School of Science
  • Sumya Saini, graduate student, biology, School of Science
  • Ayesha Saeed, senior, business management, Kelley School of Business
  • Yamano Uno, junior, neuroscience and biomedical engineering double major, School of Science and School of Engineering and Technology


Ex-Officio Members

  • Jaideep Kakar, senior, finance and economics and international studies double major, Kelley School of Business and the School of Liberal Arts
    • President of Undergraduate Student Government
  • Tatianna McKissick, graduate student, dental surgery, School of Dentistry
    • Secretary of Graduate and Professional Student Government