Robert H. McKinney

Retired, Bose McKinney & Evans LLP


Robert H. McKinney was the chairman and chief executive officer of two public companies, First Indiana Corporation and the Somerset Group, Inc. He was also a founding partner of Bose McKinney & Evans LLP.

McKinney served in a leadership role in the presidential campaigns of John F. Kennedy, Edmund Muskie, Jimmy Carter, and Walter Mondale. He was appointed by President Jimmy Carter as chairman of the Federal Home Loan Bank Board, the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation, and the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation in 1977.

McKinney served on the IU Board of Trustees from 1989 to 1998 and was president of the board from 1993 to 1994. He was chairman of the IUPUI Board of Advisors and was formerly a director and chairman of the Marian College Board of Trustees. He is a director of the U.S. Naval Academy Foundation, the Indiana University Foundation, the Conservation Law Center, the Sierra Club Foundation (former chair), and the Indianapolis Zoo and is advising director to the IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs. He has been a director of many civic corporations, including the Indianapolis Economic Club, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, the Indy Chamber, Chief Executive Organization, Inc., the World Presidents’ Organization, and the Indianapolis Committee on Foreign Relations. He was a founding member of Indiana Presidents’ Organization, the predecessor to World Presidents’ Organization. He and his five children manage the McKinney Family Foundation.

McKinney has been active in the American Bar Association, the Indiana State Bar, and the Indianapolis Bar Association, serving as a director of the Young Lawyers Section of the ABA, a director of the Indiana State Bar, and treasurer and director of the Indianapolis Bar Association. He has received honorary doctorates of law from Marian College and Butler University and is a Master Knight of Malta. He is the 1994 recipient of the Junior Achievement Central Indiana Business Hall of Fame Award, a 1995 recipient of the Hoosier Heritage Award, a 1999 recipient of the IU Academy of Law Alumni Fellows Award, and the 2000 recipient of the Indianapolis Archdiocese Spirit of Service Award.